Page 1 of 7 123456 ... LastLast

Thread: The JUDO Thread - with added UFC / MMA goodness

AUF Leader & Founder AUF Full Member - Ten F*&$#%kin Thousand Muthas!! (10,000+) Snickersma's Avatar
    Clan
    AUF
    PSN
    Snickersma (MW2)

Thumbs up The JUDO Thread - with added UFC / MMA goodness

Ok - Ive been doing judo for over 30 years now (started when I was 6 yo) and I've represented Tassie numerous times in National Comps and a couple of friendly international events when I was like 13... anyway Im a 2nd Dan Black belt and it will always be my favourite...

Some things you might not know about Judo...

- Judo is usually one of the first Olympic events to sell out of tickets because of its worldwide popularity. There are 202 member nations in the International Olympic Committee, and 187 of them are members of the International Judo Federation.
    - The Red and White Judo tournament was started by Jigoro Kano in 1884 and continues today as one of the longest running sports events in the world, predating the Modern Olympic Games by 12 years.
    - According to the American College of Sports Medicine, Judo is the safest contact sport for children under age 13.
    - According to the International Judo Federation (IJF), Judo is the most widely practiced martial art in the world.
    - Traditionally, Judo has the highest level of international participation of any Olympic Sport with approximately 70 countries entered. Currently, there are 187 member National Federations in the IJF, and approximately 100 countries that participate at the World Championships.
    - The global nature of judo today is revealed by the number of countries with truly world-class athletes. More than 45 different countries have earned Olympic medals in judo, and 31 different countries have champions who have won gold medals in either the Olympics or World Championships.
    - U.S. Senator Ben Nighthorse Campbell was captain of the 1964 US Olympic Judo Team.