PDA

View Full Version : PS3 backup & Restore

murph_BTK
15-03-2013, 12:47 PM
Hi all AUF tech heads

I'm in the process of getting myself a new 500gb slim PS3. I was wanting to know if any of you knew a "easy" way to A: back up my current PS3 files (I'm mainly wanting all my gaming info, DLC trophies etc) not really worried about the movies, music & photos etc

If someone could/would take the time and do a step by step (as I'm not tech savvy) on backing up the PS3 and then transferring onto a new PS3
I've googled it and watched numerous YouTube clips but. I'm still not 100% sure

Thanks guys , gals & whatever Nurf is :p

Locoevo
15-03-2013, 01:24 PM
Can't you hook the 2 ps3s via an Ethernet cable and transfer them directly?

This post is Locoevo approved

Rob_Cliffeild
15-03-2013, 01:29 PM
By memory a USB stick or hdd will do it. Never had a second ps3 to test a network transfer.

Where is Mr 4 ps3's aka Stiffy?

Tapatalk stole my Dogtags

Locoevo
15-03-2013, 01:31 PM
http://manuals.playstation.net/document/en/ps3/current/settings/transferutility.html]Data transfer manual.

This post is Locoevo approved

RayTraced
15-03-2013, 01:32 PM
breeze would know. Oh while were on the subject (kind of) im just wondering if its possible to transfer my old fat ps3 hard drive to a new 500GB slim ps3?

can i do that and keep everything that was on it?
I dont want to have to re-download, aaaaallll the downloads that I already have on there. cause that would kill me.

EDIT:

By memory a USB stick or hdd will do it. Never had a second ps3 to test a network transfer.
ooooo so do u think an external hdd would work rob???

mmmgilly
15-03-2013, 01:42 PM
I tried the transfer thing loco, gave up after 48 hours and never getting passed 10%

Rob_Cliffeild
15-03-2013, 02:03 PM
Correct I have backed up some save data using an ntfs stick

RayTraced
15-03-2013, 02:04 PM
how about dlc?

Smajs
15-03-2013, 02:08 PM
If i remember correctly from when my PS3 fat got YLOD.