PDA

View Full Version : Upgrading the PS3 Harddrive



CheekyChimpanzee
15-09-2010, 11:00 AM
Would you trust this in your PS3?

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=270541668633&ssPageName=ADME:B:EF:AU:1123


Thinking I'd get 2... and an enclosure for one of them.. then fit out one in the PS3 and use the other as a dedicated backup.

AStiffBreeze
15-09-2010, 11:04 AM
Would you trust this in your PS3?

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=270541668633&ssPageName=ADME:B:EF:AU:1123


Thinking I'd get 2... and an enclosure for one of them.. then fit out one in the PS3 and use the other as a dedicated backup.
Sounds like a pretty good plan to me.

Drace_Sabin
15-09-2010, 11:10 AM
haha i have the exactly the same one and bought it about 2 weeks ago......its fine didnt notice a difference

DarkPhoenix
15-09-2010, 11:47 AM
Im just wondering what you guys put on your PS3 that takes up so much room.

My PS3 is not full at all, and i only got the regular hard drive that came with it. and my PC is pretty empty too.

The only thing i have that takes up heaps of room is my photo collection.

AStiffBreeze
15-09-2010, 12:01 PM
Im just wondering what you guys put on your PS3 that takes up so much room.
Movies, music, photos, custom themes, demos, PSN games, DLC, patches, and soon homebrew and even larger stuff (http://www.ausforces.com/showthread.php?t=5176) as well.

CheekyChimpanzee
15-09-2010, 12:36 PM
and PSN+ --- heaps of content to download on the monthly! :-)

R5169
15-09-2010, 02:52 PM
im in the same boat cheeeky, need an upgrade before GT5! looks like a good price, you doing the workd yourself?

DarkPhoenix
15-09-2010, 03:21 PM
Movies, music, photos, custom themes, demos, PSN games, DLC, patches, and soon homebrew and even larger stuff (http://www.ausforces.com/showthread.php?t=5176) as well.

sorry for sounding like a dumbass, but by movies do you mean like AVI and MPEG files from the PC? and Music = MP3 files?

I have never really copied stuff from my computer to my PS3, is it as simple as putting all the computer stuff onto an external drive then via USB copy and paste it to the PS3 drive?

I know im a dumbass.

BlkR
15-09-2010, 03:44 PM
sorry for sounding like a dumbass, but by movies do you mean like AVI and MPEG files from the PC? and Music = MP3 files?

I have never really copied stuff from my computer to my PS3, is it as simple as putting all the computer stuff onto an external drive then via USB copy and paste it to the PS3 drive?

I know im a dumbass.

you share the media on a network so you dont need an external drive or flashdrive

DarkPhoenix
15-09-2010, 03:46 PM
you share the media on a network so you dont need an external drive or flashdrive

So you have your PS3 and PC networked? man i never thought of doing that.

BlkR
15-09-2010, 04:36 PM
So you have your PS3 and PC networked? man i never thought of doing that.

only done it once though .... though problem is with the ps3 recognising the media files... it wont recognise rmvb files if i remembered correctly...

CheekyChimpanzee
15-09-2010, 04:46 PM
im in the same boat cheeeky, need an upgrade before GT5! looks like a good price, you doing the workd yourself?


yeah probably mate... i haven't looked it up yet but from what I've heard it's as simple as taking a backup to a HD. Switching out the HDD's and when the new one is in the machine it simply detects it, formats it to the PS3 os and then you can transfer your backup back to the new HD.

Apparently you have to push down on the screwdriver pretty hard to not strip the screws (which are allegedly soft) at the head.

I'd get onto K-Brad or Murphs etc before giving it a crack for tips as I know they've both done it previously....

God it'll be good to go from 40gig to 500!! :P

Drace_Sabin
15-09-2010, 06:00 PM
i just upgraded to a 500 just wanted some space for themes and game installs but i do have a media server through tversity from the pc and then i have about 1.5 TB of movies music and so forth

QueenBeak
16-09-2010, 12:42 PM
Just a question. When you back up your files from the PS3 do you have to go into each account and do it or can you just do it all from one account

Smajs
16-09-2010, 03:49 PM
Just a question. When you back up your files from the PS3 do you have to go into each account and do it or can you just do it all from one account

Last time i backed up it did all accounts, log in details,PSN downloads etc in one go.

Also i'm trying out Media server stuff but i still think having a 300 Gb HDD in the PS3 and a 1TB external HDD plugged in is better.

CheekyChimpanzee
12-12-2010, 02:53 PM
Alrighty.. finally, after buying a 500gig hd ages ago... i've begun the upgrade process. I backed up, installed a hd, formatted it and began the restore.

All good to this point.

Except it froze upon the beginning of the restore process. Here's to trying to fix that with no clue! hahaha

CheekyChimpanzee
12-12-2010, 03:00 PM
Well a hard reset (button on back of machine) fixed that. It went into restore on this attempt. Let you know how it's gone in an hour or two. My primary concern is that the GT5 save file won't transfer, as it is copy-protected and won't backup to flash-drive... but hopefully the full system backup and restore process will capture it. :-)

AStiffBreeze
12-12-2010, 03:26 PM
My primary concern is that the GT5 save file won't transfer, as it is copy-protected and won't backup to flash-drive... but hopefully the full system backup and restore process will capture it. :-)

It'll work. Or should I say it's supposed to work...

JORDS686
13-12-2010, 12:53 PM
I'm thinking of upgrading soon, too. I have PlayTV and record shitloads of stuff, so I've filled up the 250GB really quickly. Whats the BIGGEST size HD you can get? Is there anything on the market over 1TB?

rezn8richo
18-10-2011, 01:30 PM
I recently bought my mates 40gb fatty off him for $100...
Am I able to put the 80gb hard drive from my old system straight into that?

repercuss
18-10-2011, 01:38 PM
Yes but the hdd will need to be formatted so you wont have the data.

nurfman
18-10-2011, 01:54 PM
I recently bought my mates 40gb fatty off him for $100...
Am I able to put the 80gb hard drive from my old system straight into that?

You will also need a USB stick to jump start your new hard drive unless you backed it up?

rezn8richo
18-10-2011, 02:50 PM
So I need to save all the data to a USB first? What about saving it to an external hard drive instead?

AStiffBreeze
18-10-2011, 02:53 PM
http://www.ausforces.com/showthread.php?5967-Cool-Add-Ons-Peripherals-For-Your-PS3

bobandbunny
19-10-2011, 12:45 AM
I bought a 500GB drive from MSY in town for a similar price rather than going to Ebay. I had to buy another external hard drive to back up the data first however but officeworks obliged there. It was a tedious process, formatting, backing-up and then installing - it took many hours to back up 250GB worth. I think i set it going overnight and it still wasn't done in the morning.