PDA

View Full Version : PS3 Data Transfer Utility



AStiffBreeze
02-07-2010, 11:53 AM
The PS3 Data Transfer Utility... has anybody here used it successfully?

I have an old (40GB) fatty with a 320GB HDD in it that I've been using for years. I just bought a 120GB slim (upgraded to 500GB HDD) and I've spent the last two nights trying to get the PS3 Data Transfer Utility to copy everything from the fatty to the slim. I've followed the Sony instructions (http://au.playstation.com/ps3/support/network/detail/item250046/Use-the-data-transfer-utility/) for the entire process to the letter, and the transfer begins without any issues. Apart from taking an age of man (there's 210GB of data to transfer), on each occasion after about 5 or 6 hours (at about the 70% mark) the transfer simply fails with an error message popping up on the slim screen. I then have to format the slim HDD before I can reboot it.

I don't think I have the heart to waste another 6 hours on this unless I know that it has actually worked successfully for somebody, somewhere out there.

asadoxian
02-07-2010, 12:01 PM
maybe its too much to do all at once can you do it in like parts? i dunno myself never had the need before

AStiffBreeze
02-07-2010, 12:15 PM
maybe its too much to do all at once can you do it in like parts? i dunno myself never had the need before
Nope it's all or nothing. I felt the need but it looks like I'm out of luck.

For many things (e.g. unencrypted saves, videos, music, pictures) I can do the transfer manually if I have to, but it will take a while and be fiddly. For some things (e.g. downloaded PSN games and demos) I'd have to download everything again a second time on the slim which will be a royal pain in the arse, slow as a wet week, and a crime against my monthly download quota. And for some heavily DRM'd things Im shit out of luck (e.g. encrypted saves and some items which are locked to a single console).

The beauty of the data transfer utility - when it actually manages to transfer data - is that you don't have to worry about any of that shit, all of the DRM stuff is sorted automatically and everything just ends up on the new machine.

asadoxian
02-07-2010, 12:19 PM
can't you just transfer all the raw files as they are on the original hard drive?

EDIT did you install the new hard drives yourself?

if so you could remove them install them in your pc do a full copy over on that and reinstall in your ps3?

Chiips
02-07-2010, 12:38 PM
Too much to transfer??? Free up some space by deleting some demos etc, will also shorten the time.

If you're going to keep both PS3 (assuming) and using both, do you need to have identical stuff on them? just a thought.

Thin it down to ~147GB (70%!!) and try again?????

Revs77
02-07-2010, 12:46 PM
My experience with the data transfer.
I backed up all data on 60gb PS3 to an external drive.
Plugged external drive onto new 250gb slim and it only coppied my save files across, it didn't copy any of my downloaded data. It must of known it was going to a different PS3.

I did the same thing on my brothers ps3 where he only upgraded the HDD in the same ps3 and the data transfer copied everything across including anything he had downloaded.

AStiffBreeze
02-07-2010, 12:50 PM
can't you just transfer all the raw files as they are on the original hard drive?

EDIT did you install the new hard drives yourself?

if so you could remove them install them in your pc do a full copy over on that and reinstall in your ps3?
No sadly that isn't possible on the PS3, the filesystem is encrypted to stop piracy.



Too much to transfer??? Free up some space by deleting some demos etc, will also shorten the time.

If you're going to keep both PS3 (assuming) and using both, do you need to have identical stuff on them? just a thought.

Thin it down to ~147GB (70%!!) and try again?????
The idea is to have the slim as my main gaming machine, hooked up to my bravia (since the bravia sync feature will be useful), and to have the fatty as primarily a DVD and Blu-ray player with less frequent gaming. In that case it makes sense to have the demos on my slim rather than on the fatty. So I don't need identical stuff on both, I just need the stuff on my fatty to be copied to my slim.

The annoying thing is that Sony made the PS3 Data Transfer Utility for this exact reason (people buying a slim and wanting to transfer all of the shit off their old fatty), the problem is that the damn thing doesn't fucking work! :32:

Chiips
02-07-2010, 01:05 PM
Unless there's some kind of time out feature with the transfer????? (given Sony didn't expect people to be tranfering so much data given their default HDD sizes??? What's the largest default system...120GD...or was it 250GB??)

I know you get attached to all your games and downloads and never trade in etc (even shit ones :D), but maybe you get rid of some the crap thats on the drive first?

EDIT - ok, so largest HDD size is 250GB slim.... hmm.... noticed some others have had simmilar problem as well, transfer stopping before after starting successfully :(

Chiips
02-07-2010, 01:27 PM
Look this guy has exact same problem



"An error occured during the restore operation. The hard disk must be reformatted. All data on the hard disk will be deleted during formatting"

So I reformat and start the whole process over again. It gets to about 70% and the error occurs.


Some reckon it's due to calbing... and maybe corrupt data?? One dude said deleting something helped helped, whereas this dude said it did nadda!!


Here's the link if you haven't seen it yet.



http://boardsus.playstation.com/t5/PlayStation-3-General/Errors-during-Fat-to-Slim-data-transfer/td-p/44791716/page/2?view=by_date_ascending

AStiffBreeze
02-07-2010, 01:35 PM
My experience with the data transfer.
I backed up all data on 60gb PS3 to an external drive.
Plugged external drive onto new 250gb slim and it only coppied my save files across, it didn't copy any of my downloaded data. It must of known it was going to a different PS3.

I did the same thing on my brothers ps3 where he only upgraded the HDD in the same ps3 and the data transfer copied everything across including anything he had downloaded.
The Backup and Restore functions are what you're referring to I think Revs, and as you point out they only work on the same PS3 (and that's all they're supposed to do). The PS3 Data Transfer Utility was introduced with firmware 3.15 and allows you to copy the entire contents of any PS3's hard drive to any other PS3 via an ethernet cable connecting the two machines.



Look this guy has exact same problem

Some reckon it's due to calbing... and maybe corrupt data?? One dude said deleting something helped helped, whereas this dude said it did nadda!!

Here's the link if you haven't seen it yet.

http://boardsus.playstation.com/t5/PlayStation-3-General/Errors-during-Fat-to-Slim-data-transfer/td-p/44791716/page/2?view=by_date_ascending
Cheers for that Chiips, I haven't had a chance to do any research yet but that looks like it might be a good place to start.

asadoxian
02-07-2010, 02:10 PM
No sadly that isn't possible on the PS3, the filesystem is encrypted to stop piracy.


granted but you wouldnt actually be changing any files it would just be a raw data i.e do a complete image of the first HDD and transfer onto the new one like burning a DVD as such u just copy the image not the actual files?

AStiffBreeze
02-07-2010, 02:19 PM
granted but you wouldnt actually be changing any files it would just be a raw data i.e do a complete image of the first HDD and transfer onto the new one like burning a DVD as such u just copy the image not the actual files?

In terms of doing a direct block level copy of an unknown filesystem, you're talking about some pretty specialised tools there! I'll leave that sort of stuff to the high-end (and incredibly well paid) data recovery guys, I think if I were to mess around there I'd just end up screwing things up. I suspect you'd need a drive with exactly the same logical size too, which sadly I don't have.

asadoxian
02-07-2010, 02:25 PM
not so there are plenty of programs out there that just make raw images of HDD i've used some many of times when ive had HD fails they essentially have the same GUI as dvd burning software for simpler use as for the same amount of space AFAIK it doesn't matter only if your going down in size but i do understand the hesitation in messing around with that stuff it can get complicated i have stuffed up a couple haha.

but oh well was just trying to help hope theres a simple solution out there for you stiffy just sounds to me like its timing out getting caught up on a bit of corrupt data if you could find where its getting stuck as long as its not an essential file deleting it should fix the problem no?

AStiffBreeze
02-07-2010, 02:51 PM
not so there are plenty of programs out there that just make raw images of HDD

It's easy to make images of HDD's you can mount. Those programs don't work with unknown filesystems :(

asadoxian
02-07-2010, 03:09 PM
ps3 is fat32 aint it?

murph_BTK
02-07-2010, 03:47 PM
ps3 is fat32 aint it?

Yes its in fat32.

AStiffBreeze
02-07-2010, 04:19 PM
ps3 is fat32 aint it?


Yes its in fat32.

It's not in FAT32 :D

It's a proprietary filesystem. It can read FAT32 on external drives only.

Chiips
02-07-2010, 05:24 PM
Got weight problems?

I'm seeing a lot of fatness here

AStiffBreeze
02-07-2010, 05:29 PM
Got weight problems?

I'm seeing a lot of fatness here
I'm trying to suck the fat into the slim but the liposuction's not working :p

Chiips
02-07-2010, 05:35 PM
I'm trying to suck the fat into the slim but the liposuction's not working :p

ah ha, there's your problem. You can suck stuff "out" of something, but not "suck" it in!! Try injecting :D maybe botox?

AStiffBreeze
04-07-2010, 08:02 PM
Well the PS3 Data Transfer Utility failed to transfer any data after 6 attempts and roughly 36 hours of copying. The problem seems to be that there must be some corrupt data amongst the 200 odd GB there, and in terms of a solution the general suggestion seems to be that I should start randomly deleting stuff (from the 200GB of data) until the transfer works. Well screw that! The idea is to get my data in two places, not zero places!

Anyway, I have the slim up and running and I'm currently playing RDR on it. Over time I'll re-download my PSN games to it and gradually do the installs and patches for my other games. All in all though I'm not very happy :mad2:

Tallpaul77
05-07-2010, 09:44 AM
I know this is of little help but I heard a rumour that PS3 doesn't like 500GB HDD - Could have nothing to do with your problem but just thought I'd throw it out there.

Chiips
05-07-2010, 10:09 AM
That sucks...

Why don't you use the slim as blur ray player etc, and you play on your old fat in your room???? saves you needing to transfer

asadoxian
05-07-2010, 05:58 PM
It's not in FAT32 :D

It's a proprietary filesystem. It can read FAT32 on external drives only.

i thought that it uses a common file system but the reason it can't be hacked is because if you change any system files it just wont work? like i know people can get into the files system of their ps3 but actually hacking it is impossible thats why i thought it was fat32?