PDA

View Full Version : Server Connection Timed Out (Help Needed)

Revs77
26-08-2009, 09:26 AM
G'Day guys,
Well I just started playing COD4 again and I keep getting the message "Server connection timed out" and I get booted from the game and sometimes the PSN, so bloody annoying!!!
I don't know if my router is shitting itself or what exactly the problem is.
I only started playing online about a year ago and I used to have a Dynalink router, this worked fine with COD4 back then. I then upgraded to a better D-link router and have been playing W@W for about a year without any problems. I just started playing COD4 again and now I keep getting disconnected. I have never opened ports or anything like that on my routers in the past so I don't know if I really need to do this now to fix the problem. I do have my PS3 hooked up wireless to the router but the signal is 100% so I don'y think I have a problem with the connection from the PS3 to the router it's more the router to the internet as when I do get this timed out message I go look at the router my internet light is either blinking indicating traffic or red as in lost connection.

YNWA01
26-08-2009, 10:30 AM
hey Revs, think we got a few games in last night! good to see you back in MW.

I have had similar issues in the past. I assume you have ADSL2+ but whatever type of internet you have got make sure you have the correct filters set up on any other telephone or Foxtel devices. I had the wrong one (only ADSL) in my old house for my Foxtel and it played havoc with my connection (similar issues to yours) but I never noticed it was the wrong filter - DOH!!!

After that get your line speed checked for stability with the ISP and see if they can suggest any other solutions.

ARandomNade
26-08-2009, 11:23 AM
hey Revs, think we got a few games in last night! good to see you back in MW.